Press here for a
printer-friendly version of this page


Panel 3C (90min): The Open Archives Initiative: Perspectives on Metadata Harvesting

Moderator: James B. Lloyd (University of Tennessee)
  • Don Waters (Mellon Foundation)
  • Tim Cole (Chair, Library Information Technology Committee, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Caroline Arms (Library of Congress)
  • Donald Waters (Mellon Foundation)
  • Jeffrey Young (OCLC)

Panel 4C (90min): Different Cultures Meet - Lessons Learned in Digital Library Development

Moderator: Ching-chih Chen (Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, Simmons College)
  • Hsueh-hua Chen (Chair, Department of Library and Information Science, National Taiwan University)
  • Wen Gao (Deputy President, Graduate Schools, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing)
  • Von-Wun Soo (Professor of Computer Science, National Tsinghua University, Taipei)
  • Li-Zhu Zhou (Chair, Department of Computer Science, Tsinghua University, Beijing)

Panel 5C (90min): Digital Library Collaborations in a World Community

Moderator: David Fulker (Unidata Program Center)
  • Sharon Dawes (SUNY Albany)
  • Leonid Kalinichenko (Institute of Informatics Problems, Russian Academy of Science, Moscow State University)
  • Tamara Sumner (Center for LifeLong Learning and Design, Dept. of Computer Science and the Institute of Cognitive Science, University of Colorado)
  • Constantino Thanos (DELOS Director, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Istituto di Elaborazione della Informazione)
  • Alex Ushakov (ChemQuest Project, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Northern Colorado)

Panel 6C (90min): A Digital Strategy for the Library of Congress - Discussion of the LC21 Report and the Role of the Digital Library Community

Moderator: Alan Inouye (Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, National Academy of Sciences)
  • Dale Flecker (Associate Director of Planning and Systems, Harvard University Library)
  • Margaret Hedstrom (Associate Professor, School of Information, University of Michigan.)
  • David Levy, Professor (Information School, University of Washington)

Panel 7C (90min): The President's Information Technology Advisory Committee's February 2001 Digital Library Report and its Impact

Moderator: Sally E. Howe (National Coordination Office for Information Technology Research & Development
  • David Nagel (President AT&T Labs, Chair PITAC Digital Library Panel)
  • Ching-chih Chen (Professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, Simmons College, and PITAC)
  • Stephen M. Griffin (NSF, Digital Libraries Initiative)
  • James H. Lightbourne (NSF, National SMETE Digital Library (NSDL) Program)
  • Walter L. Warnick (Department of Energy, Director Office of Scientific and Technical Information)

Panel 8C (2hr): The National SMETE Digital Library Program

Moderator: Brandon Muramatsu (SMETE.ORG Project Director, University of California at Berkeley)
  • James Lightbourne (National SMETE Digital Library (NSDL) Program,National Science Foundation)
  • Marcia Mardis, Merit Networks, TeacherLib NSDL Project)
  • Cathryn A. Manduca (University Corporation for Atmospheric Research)
  • Flora P. McMartin (University of California at Berkeley)

Panel 11C (2hr): High Tech or High Touch?

Moderator: David Levy (Professor, Information School, University of Washington)
  • Diane Nester Kresh (Director Public Services Collections, Library of Congress)
  • Oren Etzioni (Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Washington)
  • William Arms (Professor, Computer Science Department, Cornell University)
  • Barbara Tillett (Director, Integrated Library System Program Office, Library of Congress)

Panel 12C (90min): Digital Libraries Supporting Digital Government

Moderator: Gary Marchionini (Cary C. Boshamer Professor, School of Library and Information Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • Lawrence E. Brandt (Program Manager for Digital Government Research, National Science Foundation)
  • Hsinchun Chen (University of Arizona)
  • Anne Craig (Illinois State Library)
  • Judith Klavans (Columbia University)

Panel 13C (90min): Digital Music Libraries - Research and Development

Moderator:Christine Brancolini (Director, Indiana University Digital Library Program)
  • David Bainbridge (University of Waikato)
  • Mary Wallace Davidson (William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University)
  • Andrew P. Dillon (School of Library and Information Science, Indiana University)
  • Matthew Dovey (Libraries Automation Service, University of Oxford)
  • Jon W. Dunn (Digital Library Program, Indiana University)
  • Ichiro Fujinaga (Peabody Conservatory of Music, Johns Hopkins University)
  • Eric J. Isaacson (School of Music, Indiana University)
  • Michael Fingerhut (IRCAM-Centre Pompidou)